Dog and Cat Rescue Samui Foundationlogo
  
 

             

    

   

 
  • 12 years saving dogs and cats in Koh Samui, Thailand
  • We treat and save stray dogs and cats in the island
  • Thanks to our team, volunteers and sponsors we can make them happy
  • Please help us! Become a godparent
  • Rainbow Bridge: read the stories of cats & dogs that passed away
telephone 077 413 490 /081 893 944 3
e-Mail address info@samuidog.org

SPAY AND NEUTER PROGRAM

Unsere Helfer bei der Arbeit!
Auf dem Operationstisch
Unser Neuzugang Tom wird gegen Raeude behandelt
Erste Hilfe am Strand
Silvana beim Hundescheren

THE DRCS CLINIC FOR DOGS AND CATS

Since April 1999, thanks for DRCS, there has been a vet on Koh Samui to help all stray, injured and sick dogs and cats. This was only achieved with the help of animal friends as the basic equipment and running expenses for a clinic are very high. Dr Somsak and two helpers were employed by the DRCS in April 1999.Seit April

Dr Somsak worked for the DRCS until the end of 1999. In January 2000 he opened his own practice in Chaweng. In March 2000, we employed Dr Sarawoot and Dr Boy but they wanted to pursue more independent work and I was not unhappy when they quit in September 2000. From October 2000 until June 2003, all stray and ill dogs were taken to Dr Somsak. We had to pay the same price for treatments as everyone else on the island. This was a good idea at the time as we only paid for actual work carried out on the dogs and were spared the overheads of the full-time salary of a vet. Dr Somsak spayed two dogs and many cats every day for us and we had a good working relationship with him. Dr Somsak sold us the medication and vaccines at a good price and explained to us in great detail about the different illnesses and provided good advice on the treatment of our animals. DRCS has always paid for the castration and medication for the Thai people who could not afford it.

In April 2003, we finished work on the shelter at Baan Taling Ngam with its own operating room. It made sense, therefore, to employ a full-time vet again so full use could be made of our new facilities. Of course we first needed to provide shelter places/boxes for the operated dogs before employing a new vet.

 

All dogs and cats stay at least one week at the DRCS shelter for medical treatment after being spayed/castrated.

Many animal welfare groups in Thailand and other parts of the World throw the animals back out to the street after one day. This means for many of them a slow and painful death! Dogs and cats are unaware that they will die for sure if they remove their stitches themselves.

Since 13 July 2003, we have had our own vet.
Dr. Joe is 29 years old and worked 3 years in a clinic in Bangkok. Dr. Joe castrated 5 to 6 dogs or cats daily and provides medical treatment to all sick and abandoned dogs and cats. He is now no longer working for the DRCS.

 

For more Info about vets, please see: Our vets and staff

Since the 8. November 2005, Dr. Sith (Teesith Pengvithaya) works for us. We are very pleased with his work and hope that he will stay with the DRCS for a long time.

 

PREVENTION

To control the breeding of dogs and the population on the island, Dr Sith spays every day at least 6 dogs or cats for the DRCS.

Here you can view a list of all operations!

We printed fliers in Thai and English to inform the locals about our 'special offer' to spay stray dogs and cats for free. We continue to rely on the locals to help us catch as many stray dogs and cats as possible. Castrations and sterilizations are the only effective method to control the number of dogs and cats. One pair of dogs will produce 16 puppies in one year, and if these also have offspring, the number rises to more than 500 puppies over three years. The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) estimates that a pair of breeding cats and their offspring can exponentially produce over 400,000 cats in 7 years. The street dogs in Thailand are called Soi Dogs. The name comes from soi = street.

Dog and Cat Rescue Samui Foundationlogo

Wer wir sind

Was wir tun

So kannst du helfen

News

Folgt uns

 

                                      

HELP US HELP


zooplus.de Gooding
DOG AND CAT RESCUE SAMUI FOUNDATION
telephone +66 (077) 413 490       

           telephone +66 (0)81 893 9443

e-Mail address info@samuidog.org

KASTRATIONS- & STERILISATIONSPROGRAMM

Unsere Helfer bei der Arbeit!
Auf dem Operationstisch
Unser Neuzugang Tom wird gegen Raeude behandelt
Erste Hilfe am Strand
Silvana beim Hundescheren

DIE DRCS HUNDEKLINIK

Seit April 1999 gibt es dank der Gründung des DRCS einen Tierarzt auf Koh Samui, der allen herrenlosen, verletzten und kranken Hunden und Katzen helfen kann. Dies war nur durch die Unterstützung vieler Tierfreunde aus aller Welt möglich, denn die Grundausstattung und die laufenden Kosten für eine Tierklinik sind sehr hoch. Dr. Somsak und zwei Helfer wurden im April 1999 vom DRCS eingestellt.

Dr. Somsak hat bis Ende 1999 für das DRCS gearbeitet. Im Januar 2000 hat er sich selbständig gemacht und betreibt seitdem eine Privatpraxis in Chaweng. Im März 2000 haben wir Dr. Sarawoot und Dr. Boy für das DRCS eingestellt. Beide Ärzte haben bis September 2000 für das DRCS gearbeitet. Leider war ihnen selbständiges Arbeiten nur sehr eingeschränkt möglich, und so war ich nicht traurig, als beide im September 2000 gekündigt haben. Von Oktober 2000 bis Juni 2003 haben wir alle herrenlose kranken Tiere zu Dr. Somsak zur Behandlung gebracht und wie alle anderen Privatpatienten bezahlt. Da wir nur für tatsächlich erbrachte Arbeit bezahlen mussten, war das nach meinen schlechten Erfahrungen mit eigenen Ärzten eine gute Lösung. Dr. Somsak hat täglich 2 weibliche Hunde und viele Katzen für das DRCS kastriert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ihm war immer sehr gut. Wir konnten Medikamente und Impfstoffe bei ihm kaufen und er hat uns immer gut beraten. Das DRCS hat natürlich auch die Kosten für Kastrationen oder andere medizinisch notwendige Behandlungen bei Hunden oder Katzen übernommen, wenn der Besitzer das nötige Geld nicht aufbringen konnte, weil er zu arm war.

Nachdem wir im April 2003 mit dem Bau des Tierheimes in Ban Taling Ngam fertig waren und dort auch ein Operationsraum eingerichtet worden ist, haben wir wieder einen eigenen Arzt für das DRCS eingestellt. Vorher war daran nicht zu denken, weil wir keine Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten für die kastrierten Tiere hatten.

Bei uns werden alle Hunde und Katzen nach der Kastration/Sterilisation mindestens eine Woche im Tierheim aufgenommen und medizinisch betreut..

Die meisten Tierschutz-Organisationen werfen die Tiere nach einem Tag nach der Operation wieder auf die Straße. Dass das den sicheren Tod für viele beutet ist ja wohl klar. Hauptsache die Statistik stimmt.

Seit dem 13. Juli 2003 hat das DRCS wieder einen eigenen Tierarzt! Dr. Joe ist 29 Jahre alt und hat 3 Jahre in einer Klinik in Bangkok gearbeitet. Dr. Joe kastriert täglich 5 bis 6 Hunde oder Katzen und versorgt alle kranken herrenlosen Tiere. Er arbeitet inzwischen nicht mehr für uns.

mehr Infos zu Tierärzten unter: unsere Tierärzte und Mitarbeiter

Wir arbeiten seit dem 8. November 2005 mit Dr. Sith (Teesith Pengvithaya) zusammen. Wir sind mit seiner Arbeit sehr zufrieden und hoffen, dass er noch lange bei uns bleiben wird.

 

VERHÜTUNG

Um die unkontrollierte Vermehrung der Hunde (Soidogs) und Katzen auf der Insel in den Griff zu bekommen, kastriert/sterilisiert Dr. Sith jeden Tag

mindestens 6 Hunde oder Katzen für das DRCS.

Hier könnt Ihr eine Liste aller Operationen sehen!

Wir haben Flyer in Thai und English drucken lassen, dass wir Sterilisationen und Kastrationen kostenlos anbieten und hoffen so auf die Unterstützung der einheimischen Bevölkerung beim Hunde- und Katzenfang. Kastrationen und Sterilisationen sind die einzig wirksame Methode die unkontrolliert Vermehrung der Hunde und Katzen in den Griff zu bekommen. Ein Hundepaar kann 16 Welpen innerhalb eines Jahres produzieren. Wenn diese ebenfalls Junge bekommen, steigt die Zahl der Jungen auf über 500 Welpen innerhalb von 3 Jahren. Die Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) schätzt, dass ein Katzenpaar und deren Nachkommen über 400,000 Katzen in 7 Jahren zur Welt bringen können. Die Hunde auf den Straßen hier heißen soi dogs. Der Name kommt von soi = Straße.